Warriors Class

Warrior Program
(Ages 4 – 7)
The ‘Warrior’ class is  designed for boys & girls for FUN, fitness and friendship. Children advance at their own pace through a 3 level stripe  program. These classes are an introduction to the martial arts and are designed to let kids have fun while experiencing a real martial art atmosphere.

Warrior Class
In the Berjaya Taekwon-Do school a warriors is a child between the ages of 4 and 7.  The warriors are the youngest group in our school learning the martial art of Taekwon-Do.  Most kids come to our club with visions of Ninja Turtles and Power Rangers spinning in their heads.  The warrior does get to do some neat stuff but first they must learn the basics.  This program is designed to be a 2 year program or as short as 1 year depending on the abilities of the student. Here is how the program works:

Our class structure
Our classes are divided into four different levels:

The Green level, or beginner level, teaches the children the rules, etiquette, and basic moves of Taekwon-Do.  At this stage they are taught proper stretches as well as how to behave in a martial arts class.

The Blue level, or intermediate level, teaches the children more complex moves as well as some memorization of the tenets of Taekwon-Do

The Red Level, or advanced level, teaches the children even more complex moves as their co-ordination is improving. At this level we introduce board breaking as the student now has demonstrated proper basic kicks.

The Grey level signifies the students proficiency in the warrior program. Since the regular Taekwon-Do class does not have multiple stripes, some way had to be found where the warriors could join in without having to revert back to a white belt.  A Grey Belt is another achievement for the Tiger Cub and can easily blend in with the regular class. This enables the warriors to enter the regular class looking much like any other participant but knowing a lot more.  The self-confidence that is shown by Grey Belt is very high.  They have completed a difficult task successfully.

The first three levels are further divided into three degrees of achievement.

  • First Level of achievement is attained when they get a stripe on their belt to mark their proficiency in the color they are working on.
  • Next is the second stripe degree.  Here they are awarded a second colored stripe corresponding to the color of their level.
  • Finally, they are awarded a third stripe.  This signifies that they have reached the highest degree in that particular color and they proceed on to their next color level.